The Antigo High School class of 2021 received their diplomas during the graduation ceremony Sunday.

This year has allowed students to have a more normalized graduation, unlike last year’s drive-up ceremony which took place in the midst of the coronavirus pandemic.

To give students the best graduation possible, the Antigo School Board has been discussing the correct planning for months.

After careful consideration, graduation was held at Listle Field, across from the high school. The outdoor event had several hundred attendees.

“Graduation is always special. This year is no exception. I am very proud of our district for supporting having an in-person ceremony and allowing up to six tickets per graduate. This graduating class has faced lots of adversity and I see it shaping them to be able to face some unforeseen challenges that pop up on them in their future endeavors,” said principal Clint Rogers. “This class has been extremely resilient, creative and persistent in terms of planning things, such as prom and graduation so that they can capture some of the traditional celebrations that add to the excitement of their high school careers. Resiliency, creativity and persistence are all qualities that will bring them success in all of their adventures after high school.”

Senior choir members, including Talyah Bussey, Faith Bussiere, Gwendolyn Frei, Emma Lenzner, Evelyn LeVeque, Anna Montgomery, Ella Montgomery, Greta Parsons, Emily Pla, Emily Pikka, Logan Preul, Aurora Simpkins and Holly Zimmerman, prerecorded their singing of the national anthem which was followed by a welcoming statement from classmate Graciana DeWan.

Superintendent Julie Sprague presented Connie Steckbauer with the Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Following that, Elizabeth Preboski, valedictorian, and Logan Thomae, salutatorian, spoke regarding their time with Antigo High and their classmates. Rogers then presented Preboski and Thomae with medals recognizing their valedictorian and salutatorian status.

School Board officers Andy Merry, Jill Mattek-Nelson, Dave Bardo and Danny Pyeatt handed diplomas to students as they walked across the stage.

The 2021 class officers were DeWan, president; Alex Stank, vice president; Heather Arlen, secretary; and Noelle Tischendorf, treasurer.

The 2021 class motto was; “We knew our last year would fly by, but we didn’t think it would ‘ZOOM.’”

For more photos from area graduation ceremonies, turn to page 7A.

Recommended for you